Pet of the Month.

Molly October 2015


How did you come to live with your current family?
Back in 2008 I spent about 5 weeks relaxing at the Whatcom Humane Society. It got pretty boring so I decided to go home with a good looking couple who came to visit me. They had a little white dog with them, she and I have become pretty good friends. We like a lot of the same things, sleeping, eating, barking at the UPS trucks –or really any diesel trucks.

What Silly or Little known facts should we know about you?
I am a fast runner, really fast, wicked fast. Years ago, we used to go to the dog park. When people would see me coming, they would say to each other “wait until you see this dog, it is fast!” When I would get into the fenced area, I would just take off running. I liked the other dogs to chase me, and none of them could catch me. Unfortunately, when I would stop running, the other dogs would try to beat me up, I think because I was so much faster than them. We don’t go to the dog park much anymore.

Besides Day Care… what do you love?
I love sleeping. I can sleep A LOT. But, I don’t like sleeping alone, I like to make sure my people are in the same room. As long as I know they are there, I can snooze all day. Just as long as I can open an eye and see them, I am good.

What are your favorite toys or games?
I love to fetch toys. We don’t use balls in our house, we use these chicken toys that have a sling shot tube thing built into it, and a screeching chicken noise. I love this. My people will count one, two, three (at “two” is actually when I take off to get a head start), then they will shoot that chicken across the room and I will grab it, shake it like crazy, and then bring it back. Usually about half way back, my sister Bella grabs the other side of the chicken and we bring it back together and have a good tug o’ war session.

My other favorite toy is my sister Bella. She has these skinny little back legs that I love to bite on until she gets so mad that she attacks me. This is great fun, and we spend a lot of time wrestling.

If you had a major in college…what would it be?
I think I would have a double major. Track and field, and eating. The only thing I can do faster than run, is eat. If you put a bowl of food in front of me, it’s gone in under 10 seconds. Chewing? Who needs it, its faster if I can just swallow stuff whole!

If you wrote a personal ad… what would it say?
Tall skinny white haired dog, seeks couch and full dish of kibble. No car rides please, and must enjoy loud barking. Treats too, lots and lots of treats.

Other information we should know about you?
I don’t know if you knew this, but I can JUMP. I like to jump up and down at the door like I am on a pogo stick. There is also no set of stairs too tall, I will jump them all.

Something else… I have been coming to Tails a Wagging every Tuesday for about 7 years. For some reason, when I get into the car to go to school, I convince myself that I am going in for a Vet appointment or to some other terrible torturous place. I sit in the back seat and shiver like a little baby, but when I see that I am on Sunset drive, I start thinking “Hey, this isn’t the road to the vet, where are we going…?” Then when we turn onto Hanegan, I know where we are! I stand up and start wagging my tail and licking peoples faces.