Pet of the Month.

Marcel “Les Jambes” May 2014

(Les Jambes is French for “The Legs” and if you know me, you know why my Dad & Mom gave me this middle name.)

How did you come to live with your current family?

I was born on February 2, 2012. Dad and Mom came to see me when I was just 6 weeks old. My Uncle Gerrit helped pick me out because I was a retirement gift for my Dad. But I couldn’t leave my birth Mom until I was 8 weeks old. Boy, was that a long wait. Finally the day arrived when I could go to my new home. Dad and Mom picked me up and I got to ride in a car for the first time. It didn’t go so well. I hate car sickness!!!

What Silly or Little known facts should we know about you?

They think I have a wheat allergy so I have to eat grain-free food and treats. I like to shake hands often. Dad and Mom give me frozen bones if they are going to leave me home alone. But watch out, I am a butter thief and have broken many butter dishes. Because of my size, I can reach almost anything left out on the counter. Grandma can’t understand why her bread isn’t safe.

Besides Day Care… what do you love?

I absolutely LOVE my walks with Dad and Mom. I also love playing with my friends Scooter and Charlie. We run all over the house whenever Uncle Gerrit and Uncle Terry come for dinner. I really love all my people friends and dog friends at Tails A Wagging. At first, I was a little reluctant to come to Tails because I didn’t want to leave my Dad and Mom. But now, I just walk right in and don’t even say goodbye to them. I love Caroline at City Dogs Grooming and will run and jump right up on her table as soon as I arrive. I also like to visit my Uncle Phil and Aunt Sue whenever I can. We walk by their house a lot and Aunt Sue always gives me water. I also love going to Down on the Farm with my friend Dani. I am going to stay there for a week in May while Dad and Mom visit their other kids in New York.

What are your favorite toys or games?

I like squeaky toys but I always take the squeaker out right away. I like to play fetch with my Dad and “Wild Thing” with my Mom. Grandma and I play a guessing game. She hides treats behind her back and I have guess which hand has the treat in it.

If you had a major in college…what would it be?

My major would be physical fitness. Maybe I will be a Gym Teacher one day. I am already the personal trainer for Dad and Mom. Any time they come home and sit down, I get up in their faces and get them up so we can walk my favorite trails.

If you wrote a personal ad… what would it say?

I am a handsome chocolate-colored Standard Poodle with big brown eyes. Some people say I am a King Poodle because of my size. I am very polite and love to meet new friends. I am gentle and behave well while on walks. I can even walk off leash and have good recall. Everyone I pass on the trails say what a good dog I am. If I see joggers, bikers or other dogs, I walk right over to Mom and sit. That way I get a treat. The only thing that distracts me during my walks are the deer. I just love to chase them.

Other information we should know about you?

I feel very honored to be voted Pet of the Month for May. I think my head just got a little bit bigger. Thank you to all the people that make coming to Tails so much fun.