Pet of the Month.

Murphy February 2016


How did you come to live with your current family?

I grew up on a farm in Kamloops, BC. I was supposed to become a “show dog”, whatever that is, but when I turned 9 weeks old they decided I was going to be too big and let Kira take me home. Since my name is Murphy, I decided to stop growing at 65lbs to show everyone who is in charge.

What Silly or Little known facts should we know about you?

I have happily ridden a horse, a gondola, and a snowcat, and I like fireworks and storms… but I am terrified of driftwood…

Besides Day Care… what do you love?

People, sleeping under the covers, licking that one spot on the rug where something good was spilled 5 years ago, people, swimming, eating (anything), and people.

What are your favorite toys or games?

Chuck-it! I used to like disc golf, but I’m not allowed to go anymore because I kept bringing all the discs back to one spot.

If you had a major in college…what would it be?

Recreation. I spend my winters at Mt. Baker Ski Area and my summers at Adventura Aerial Adventure Park. In the summer, I provide emotional support to customers who are scared or nervous and provide entertainment when I feel the human staff isn’t up to par. In the winter I mostly sleep and attempt to eat all the snow on the west slopes of the northern Cascades.

If you wrote a personal ad… what would it say?

Handsome young man with a silken golden coat seeks lady with same to share romps in the snow, lazy mornings in bed, and two well trained humans. Must assist with cleaning all food off the floors of any place we visit. Driftwood lovers need not apply.

Other information we should know about you?

Some people suspect I am not a golden retriever, but in fact 3/4 Teddy Bear and 1/4 Wookie.