more...

Dewey
March 2016
How did you come to live with your current family?
I came from a broken home.  My mom was an immigrant (Australian Shepherd) and my Dad was a local Labrador retriever.  My earliest memories are of mom and my adoptive mom (an old standard poodle name Laverne) while at the SPOT shelter in Skagit County.  One day, when I was about 8 weeks old, my future parents came for a visit.  Since I was an irresistibly cute puppy, they were smitten and took me home a couple of weeks later.
 
What Silly or Little known facts should we know about you?
I have an overactive sense of duty that causes me to become stressed when anyone else is unhappy or stressed.  In fact, the thing that I’m usually most worried about is the misbehaviors of my cat, Cheddar.  She isn’t too bad for a cat, but she has no idea how to follow rules.  So, when mom or dad get irritated at the cat, it really stresses me out.  
  
Besides Day Care… what do you love?
I love it when my people chase me around trees. I love getting things for my people, especially sticks.  I love puppies of all type, people or dogs.  I love showing other dogs my farm (and occasionally herding them into the creek....)  And I love protecting my family from the terror of the tree rodents who plot to kill my family, squirrels. Fulfilling this duty is what gives meaning to my life.
 
If you had a job…what would it be?
I would have to have a job that plays to my talents which are primarily following rules and fetching things.  My dream job would be either ball tester at Pet Smart or perhaps a research librarian. That way I could carefully follow the Dewey decimal system while retrieving things for people.
 
If you wrote a personal ad… what would it say?
Handsome, athletic three year old seeks beautiful, athletic dog of any age.  Must be punctual, predictable, and able to run for hours at a time.  I enjoy long walks around the farm, short discussion on what rule to follow when.  Squirrel, mole, & vole tolerant dogs need not apply.